project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > Off-Topic Forums > Off-Topic Discussion
21 Apr 2018, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Forum RulesDeveloper Blogs Project Reality Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Off-Topic Discussion For all discussions not related to PR. No Spam.

Old 12-11-2010, 11:29 AM   #1
Incognito84
Default Would you want to ban all under 16 gamers from using mics?

I decided to give a few new games a chance recently. The first is c-RPG and the other one is Counter strike: Source Jailbreak (my friend on Steam recently opened a server for this which is why I've been playing it).

Anyway, I joined a small c-RPG server and started asking people questions about it when I was dead. It's my first time with the mod so I was confused. I just asked some basic advice like "do I have to reconnect when I purchase stuff? How do I ______?" Thankfully c-RPG doesn't allow mics so a lot of people just typed their answers, which were: "gtfo out noob," "(my alias) is a fa**ot" and so on.

In Jailbreak I played on the CT team which is supposed to give orders to the T team. If the Ts disobey then we're allowed to shoot them. For example, I say to the Ts (over the mic): "everyone take one step out of their cell, turn around and freeze." There is always someone who doesn't follow orders in which case we're permitted to shoot them.

50% of the time I shoot someone they start having a hissy fit on the mic and it's usually someone who sounds like they're under 14 and their balls haven't dropped yet. "FREEKILLER! YOU FREEKILLING (racial slur/anti-semetic/homophobic etc)"

Seriously, I heard the N word and the homophobic F word uttered more over the mic in one CS:S game then I hear them in the rest of my life combined over the course of one year, including all the times I hear stuff like that said ironically or mockingly.