project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 General Discussion
27 May 2018, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Forum RulesDeveloper Blogs Project Reality Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
PR:BF2 General Discussion General discussion of the Project Reality: BF2 modification.

Old 05-01-2008, 07:43 PM   #1
space
Banned
Default What do people want in maps apart from fricking lazors

Im just starting out making a map and I wondered what other people would like to see in maps. We all know everyone wants opsreys/chinnocks/lazors/metal storm cannons/fastropes etc, but i mean more of the enviromental stuff.
The intention is not to put down the current maps, as the engine has limitatons and we cant have everything ( most maps are fing amazing ). I just want a better idea of what other people think.
I have my own list of things that id like to see, but it would be interesting to see what other people think and also to critise what I think.

1. Lack of a battlefield/war feeling

Not true on all the maps, but some seem just too sterile. ( remember big maps cant have too much on them but I mean more burning wrecks etc )

2. Lack of enviromental sounds.

Every village is deserted ( after all cant have civilains ) but I think dogs barking and such like would really add to the atmosphere.

3. Maps are "too tidy"

Hard to explain but some maps dont have enough natural randomness. Vehicles spawn in lines and suchlike ( again remember the static object limitations etc )

4.Not enough natural awesomeness.

Theres few big mountains, or dramatic valleys. ( Remember that small maps cant have much of this and big maps means less maps ) but archer is a step in the right direction imo.

5. No large military complexes.