project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > Project Reality Support > PR:BF2 Support
13 Dec 2018, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Forum RulesDeveloper Blogs Project Reality Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
PR:BF2 Support Help and support regarding PR:BF2 installation and in-game issues

Old 2008-04-07, 12:32   #1
kilroy0097
Supporting Member

Exclamation Punkbuster Error: MD5Tool Mismatch Troubleshooting

Updated 5/6/08 - My Solution Steps and Fixes can be found on this post in this thread. <-- Click here

-------------------------------------------
Original Thread:

This thread is the only other one that has any info on this issue but still does not come with an answer. No threads linked from it have any tangible answers at all.

The error message given in a pop up window after Punkbuster kicks me.

Error: Punkbuster Kicked player 'Player' ...MD5Tool Mismatch: mods\bf2\shaders_client.zip (len=2048)

Background: I am an IT professional in real life so diagnosing bugs or issues with my Win XP machine is not a new thing for me. Keep that in mind. From the release of Patch .756 I have had no issues at all with disconnecting or getting kicked for this particular error. There are the normal connection issues (Esc Button Fix) and punkbuster getting confused and generating an error (Punkbuster A or B .exe not running correctly) but this particular PB error has not occurred until today. Just keep in mind that nothing had changed, no new programs were installed and I have done nothing new to my computer since I last played PR. Which was on Friday morning, 3 days ago.

Computer Specs: Win XP Pro SP2 to current, 2GB of RAM, CPU: Pent(R)4 3.2Ghz, VC: Radeon x1950 Pro Video Drivers: Omega 3.8.421 (Do not suggestion Catalyst or ATI drivers as everything past 7.7 breaks this card running any game)

Video Settings in Game: