project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 Community Modding
12 Aug 2022, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Developer Blogs Project Reality Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
PR:BF2 Community Modding Making or wanting help making your own asset? Check in here

Old 2017-06-28, 01:33   #1
Nightfall
Default [Sounds] M9 preview + info on more sound work

Hello! I'm Nightfall, and I am a video game sound designer/audio engineer. I am working on some sounds for Project Reality with the goal of making things realistic, industry-standard levels/eq etc., and still able to influence excitement without sounding too "Hollywood" (hence the Reality part of things). I've been around and fired more firearms than I can even count, and I've recorded everything from the ocean waves to fighter jets flying 40 feet above ground level and all sorts of explosions and other loud sounds. I have worked on tons of mods and have had some of my free content used in games on Steam, including No More Room in Hell (2009-2012) and Space Pirate Trainer (2017).

My goal as explained above is to make things sound more realistic, more powerful, and just generally better where/when needed. This being said I admire and love the work of Anders, and he is an amazing sound designer. I've just noticed some things that could be changed here and there.

To start things off, I'd like to demonstrate one of the sounds I am working on in my spare time. The following video shows a first attempt at creating an interior firing sound for the M9. In real life, things tend to change quickly in the world of sound when firing in one environment versus another. Much of the time, when a firearm is fired indoors, the reverberation and immediate reflections around the shooter tend to significantly amplify the loudness and perception of the pressure wave emitted from such a powerful force. I try to demonstrate this chaotic effect in my video.