Project Reality Forums

Project Reality Forums (https://www.realitymod.com/forum/index.php)
-   PR:BF2 Support (https://www.realitymod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Win 10 Cannot connect remotely to Local server via Join IP (https://www.realitymod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=149079)

tabascosquash 2019-08-13 21:25

Cannot connect remotely to Local server via Join IP
 
Hello,

I've been trying to introduce some of my friends to PR. However, it's been difficult to show them the ropes, seeing as the Join IP option (remotely joining locally created server) doesn't seem to work for me (and for them). They just get an error message that says failed to join server.

I've looked up and verified my local IPv4 address, and it shows up correctly when I check Server Info in the PR client. It's port 16567, which is the port under Server Info as well. I've changed multiple times my router settings with a new rule to allow port 16567 from said IP, saved, with all remote IPs allowed. Windows Firewall has a blanket Allow rule for all the PR related .exes. Server name doesn't make a difference. Server passwords don't make a difference.

I do have Hamachi installed now, but I would really prefer not to use it (everyone has to get it). Also, doesn't Hamachi just create a new IP and port with which to use in Join IP? I have a feeling that wouldn't work either, given how it is right now.

We can all find the usual online coop and internet servers just fine. Tried both Join IP under both coop and internet tabs to no avail.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance. I wouldn't be opposed to running a dedicated server, but it would just be for personal use amongst us and as far as I can tell there are a lot of hoops I would have to jump through to get the files.

AlonTavor 2019-08-13 21:39

Re: Cannot connect remotely to Local server via Join IP
 
There should not be any special steps to get Join IP to work with "create local", other than open port. Show me a screenshot of the rule on the router.

If all fails, I would install Wireshark to check if the packets are reaching your PC. Wireshark should show them before the Firewall filter (and obviously after the router routing)

tabascosquash 2019-08-13 22:02

Re: Cannot connect remotely to Local server via Join IP
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AlonTavor (Post 2197151)
There should not be any special steps to get Join IP to work with "create local", other than open port. Show me a screenshot of the rule on the router.

If all fails, I would install Wireshark to check if the packets are reaching your PC. Wireshark should show them before the Firewall filter (and obviously after the router routing)

Thanks for the reply.

https://i.imgur.com/EuWiF2g.png

https://i.imgur.com/w1Xw2I5.png

I've not used Wireshark before; not sure how to use it (I'll see if I can figure it out). I'm downloading it right now so that my friend can attempt to join again tonight.

AlonTavor 2019-08-14 08:31

Re: Cannot connect remotely to Local server via Join IP
 
Rule looks fine.

To confirm:
-Run CMD -> type ipconfig -> IPv4 192.168.0.15?
-Are you giving them your public IP?



In wireshark, start capturing and put this in the filter on top:
Code:

udp.port == 16567
And see if you get any packets when they try to join.

tabascosquash 2019-08-17 00:58

Re: Cannot connect remotely to Local server via Join IP
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AlonTavor (Post 2197163)
Rule looks fine.

To confirm:
-Run CMD -> type ipconfig -> IPv4 192.168.0.15?
-Are you giving them your public IP?



In wireshark, start capturing and put this in the filter on top:
Code:

udp.port == 16567
And see if you get any packets when they try to join.

No, the 192.168.0.15 is my private IP. I thought private was what showed up as IPv4 in ipconfig? Public is a different and wildly changing one that's 2xx.xxx.x.xx instead.

I just upgraded from 4790K to 3700X and need to install everything as well as change my router settings with a new rule to reflect the new IP, but I'll try it again and monitor with Wireshark.

AlonTavor 2019-08-17 08:01

Re: Cannot connect remotely to Local server via Join IP
 
Not sure if I understood you, but you need to give them your public IP, not your private one.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18.

Powered by: vBulletin. ©vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All Content Copyright ©2004 - 2020, Project Reality