PDA

View Full Version : Map Project Reality v0.95 Minimaps


AncientMan
2010-10-14, 02:29
As most Project Reality fans are already aware, we're implementing a new minimap grid with Project Reality v0.95. This grid has many advantages compared to the old grid.


More precise grid references, from A1 to M13, with the standard 9 subgrids.
Ability to not only zoom into the minimap, but also zoom into the grid.
Distance scale, grids represent a certain distance in meters, so you can give approximate or even precise distance calculations if you do not have a marker present.


Now, since everyone likes pictures, here's the updated minimaps for PR v0.95. While they don't have control point information on them, you can always edit them in, or even just print them out and draw all over them with your awesome battle strategies :).

http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps/05_th.jpg (http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps/05.jpg) http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps/10_th.jpg (http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps/10.jpg)http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps/15_th.jpg (http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps/15.jpg) http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps/26_th.jpg (http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps/26.jpg)

You can see all the minimaps in v0.95 in the following gallery
Project Reality Mod v0.95 Minimaps (http://realitymodfiles.com/ancient/095minimaps)

Jafar Ironclad
2010-10-14, 02:30
Insert "The Picture" here. Kickass; I can now start planning on my command stuff for release day.

Can we get GPO's for the new maps as well?

bloodthirsty_viking
2010-10-14, 02:32
I love you.

Spush
2010-10-14, 02:33
Man, can't wait to try these maps out :P.

AncientMan
2010-10-14, 02:34
Can we get GPO's for the new maps as well?

There's still a day until release, you might just see the map overviews in that time ;)

Rissien
2010-10-14, 02:38
Now we can get some good plans drawn out. thanks

Celestial1
2010-10-14, 02:45
Ooh, goody.



On a note unrelated to the images: the jabbascript for these galleries (using the fullsized images for the thumbnails) makes it render ungodly slow, most noticeable if you try to scroll down to those thumbnails and the browser tries to render them all at once.

Gotta be a better solution for reflecting what's loaded and what's not, amirite?

Stealth Clobber
2010-10-14, 02:47
Has that ship on Ochamchira always been there? I haven't played the map that much (not my fault of course) so I wouldn't know if that was there before.

Spartan0189
2010-10-14, 02:55
Cool, Surprised the guy with the repeating image (forgot your name, sorry!) hasn't posted yet :P

Ghost Wolfe
2010-10-14, 03:10
Oh man can this release get any better? Can't wait!

Zulnex
2010-10-14, 03:40
Fantastic.:thumbsup: Thank you very much.

dtacs
2010-10-14, 03:45
Has that ship on Ochamchira always been there? I haven't played the map that much (not my fault of course) so I wouldn't know if that was there before.
It was, but offmap ingame and couldn't be accessed.

KneeHiGh
2010-10-14, 04:22
Burning Sands looks bloody awsome

theflidgeface
2010-10-14, 04:45
I'm very much looking forward to playing on Iron Eagle. Look at the size of that city/town! :-D

kilroy0097
2010-10-14, 06:39
Curious Question.

If you have A - M left to right and you have 1 through 13 top to down.
Then why are number 9 Grid squares inside each coord numbered strangely from bottom to top?

Shouldn't it be...

1 2 3
4 5 6
7 8 9

?

BTW Awesome detailed maps. EVen look good zoomed in.

Nugiman
2010-10-14, 06:43
Curious Question.

If you have A - M left to right and you have 1 through 13 top to down.
Then why are number 9 Grid squares inside each coord numbered strangely from bottom to top?

Shouldn't it be...

1 2 3
4 5 6
7 8 9

?

BTW Awesome detailed maps. EVen look good zoomed in.

No, the keypads are just good as they are with

789
456
123

i mean...look at your keypad^^

stilpu
2010-10-14, 07:20
On the keyboard, yes, on the cellphone they're the other way around. I was always using the same keypad numbering as kilroy, good thing we're getting a common reference here, I can see now how this could be confusing people.

AnThRaX-NL
2010-10-14, 07:30
I like them cant wait for those new maps!

First I had no idea what the last map was because I thought it was some kind of marsh.. But then I found out it was grass so its yamalia!

AfterDune
2010-10-14, 07:45
It has always been...

7 8 9
4 5 6
1 2 3

...and it has always been displayed in the topleft corner, A1.

TheAssProtectors.Nr1
2010-10-14, 08:31
(...) good thing we're getting a common reference here, I can see now how this could be confusing people.

I've never seen anyone be confused about the keypad system.

Anyways, good job on making the grids even more precise! Great for morter attacks! :-D

HeXeY
2010-10-14, 08:58
Is it just me, or does the Archer minimap look awfully low-res?

Other then that, they're awesome :D

AncientMan
2010-10-14, 09:04
Is it just me, or does the Archer minimap look awfully low-res?

Other then that, they're awesome :D

It is :p. Needs to be regenerated.

Snazz
2010-10-14, 09:57
The grid looks a bit messed up on Yamalia. There's extra lines in C, J, 4, 7 and 10.

BreathBad
2010-10-14, 10:36
Awesome ! can't wait

Himalde
2010-10-14, 11:01
Please learn and use the spelling alphabet. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ICAO_spelling_alphabet).

no more shit like this:
take me to d4
I can't enemy there
no they are in b4
what's what I said
No Take me to d4
Did you say d4? and not b4?
Yes, Take me to d4, delta 4 not bravo 4!!!!

And please use UPPCERCASE when typing.
It's easy to confuse L (lima) and I (india) if you mix uppercase and lowercase.
Just look at them L l I i



also remember b2:c3 will cover b2, b3, c2 and c3

BTW nice minimaps. Like the new system.

Vision_16
2010-10-14, 11:38
Will Al Basra be replaced with Al Basra v2 for 0.95?

AfterDune
2010-10-14, 11:53
No.

1234567

Vision_16
2010-10-14, 12:05
Ok, thanks.

lucky.BOY
2010-10-14, 12:06
What are these greyish parts on W and E of Kokan minimap? I mean, are they fields, or what?
I just dont have an idea...

Linx_esp
2010-10-14, 12:16
http://www.motifake.com/image/demotivational-poster/1003/happiness-smiley-awesome-happiness-happy-epic-fail-demotivational-poster-1269667638.jpg

ryan d ale
2010-10-14, 12:23
Thank you for posting.

I'll be printing a few of these off :)

Snazz
2010-10-14, 12:34
What are these greyish parts on W and E of Kokan minimap? I mean, are they fields, or what?
I just dont have an idea...
Mountain sides probably.

Bufl4x
2010-10-14, 13:26
Are the grid lines now baked onto the minimap so they are still visible when zooming in?

Absolute Killer
2010-10-14, 18:30
cool but how come fallujah still hasnt been updated? like there is no H building in the ins spawn and some of the buildings are either nonexistent on the minimap or are a completely different building

also on like korengal there are just shades on some parts of the minimap instead of trees

and yea i would have to agree that the op archer minimap looks a like its in a lower res, also it might just be me but it looks like the clay buildings dont show up on that minimap for me either (like the castle and some buildings in the town) maybe they just blend with the terrain

also, another question about the new grid, it doesnt look like its stretched all the way to the sides of the map, so what if u have a contact like that is to the west of the alpha column and u need to call it out or need to be dropped in that area?

sry for the rant but those are just somethings that bug me with the minimap :p other than that, looks great, cant wait for this new patch!

Antonyo
2010-10-14, 19:05
I realy like this new coordinates system, think its gonna work well =) oh! its so close now I can almost feel it :D:D:D

Claymore
2010-10-14, 19:07
Brilliant idea folks, thank you!!!