PDA

View Full Version : [Vehicle] Leopard 2A4 Tank [WIP]


T-reX.pl
2008-08-24, 20:50
Hi all
I am making Leopard 2A4 tank for polish army
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/776/c1vi4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/3393/c2vb4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Dont worry about poly count, it's under control :D Leopard main shape is very simple, so lots of details can be made.

Bad1n
2008-08-24, 21:38
looking awesome!

keep good work up ;)

Ironcomatose
2008-08-24, 21:40
Did you ask the people in charge of this faction if they needed/wanted this tank?

Rudd
2008-08-24, 21:48
hasn't another faction (canadians?) already got a working model of the leopard 2? or is it very different from this version?

Uncle Blues
2008-08-24, 21:49
Did you ask the people in charge of this faction if they needed/wanted this tank?
Yes, he asked us. :smile:

EOD_Security-2252
2008-08-24, 22:04
What about the PT-91?

Z-trooper
2008-08-24, 22:17
looks really awesome and great level of detail so far, but I really see a problem... the germans and canadians has a L2A5, the norwegians insist on having a seperate model for their A4 and if the polish also get a seperate A4... well.. 3 tank files for roughly the same tank - and they all look different (cause lets face it, every model isnt exactly the same and has same level of detail).

My advice would be that all factions who use a L2AX should talk with eachother and chose one to go with. My recommendation would be the A5 model thats already ingame and working. A simple reskin should do the job since there isnt that many external changes from the A4 to the A5.

T-reX.pl
2008-08-25, 05:50
Yeah, I should check that out before making model.

Z-trooper, i can agree with you that we dont need 2 models of 2A4, but mix 2A4 and 2A5 into 1 tank? impossible, body looks the same, but turret looks completly different. So if you want the same level of details in tanks, my advice is: Make 2 models, 2A4 and 2A5, use one body (choose the best), so they will be detailed the same, and different turrets.
You are affraid of weight of mod?
Reskinning = X MB
Reskinning + New model = X MB + about 400KB
400KB is not much, and this is PROJECT REALITY, so polish army cant use 2A5

halvor1
2008-08-25, 10:43
Yeah, I should check that out before making model.

Z-trooper, i can agree with you that we dont need 2 models of 2A4, but mix 2A4 and 2A5 into 1 tank? impossible, body looks the same, but turret looks completly different. So if you want the same level of details in tanks, my advice is: Make 2 models, 2A4 and 2A5, use one body (choose the best), so they will be detailed the same, and different turrets.
You are affraid of weight of mod?
Reskinning = X MB
Reskinning + New model = X MB + about 400KB
400KB is not much, and this is PROJECT REALITY, so polish army cant use 2A5

The polish army need to use the Norwegians Leopard 2A4! Just need someone too uv it etc..!

Z-trooper
2008-08-25, 14:31
Yeah, I should check that out before making model.

Z-trooper, i can agree with you that we dont need 2 models of 2A4, but mix 2A4 and 2A5 into 1 tank? impossible, body looks the same, but turret looks completly different. So if you want the same level of details in tanks, my advice is: Make 2 models, 2A4 and 2A5, use one body (choose the best), so they will be detailed the same, and different turrets.
You are affraid of weight of mod?
Reskinning = X MB
Reskinning + New model = X MB + about 400KB
400KB is not much, and this is PROJECT REALITY, so polish army cant use 2A5

good point indeed, it was just that this process will take a very very long time, especially when it gets to getting stuff working ingame.
Judging from what I've seen so far, this body is shaping out to be the best candidate, great level of detail and clean mesh.
if the polish forces should make it before a working A4 is complete I suggest reskinning the A5 as a placeholder perhaps.

Just suggestions, no pressure. Keep up the good work :)

xatu miller
2008-10-12, 18:50
looks awsome:-o any progress on it?

Nimble
2008-10-12, 19:25
It would certainly be nice to have our own uniform base model that we could just work off of to create a 2A4, 2A5 and 2A6 as needed for community factions, etc. This would keep us from having glaring differences between the various different models of leopards that we seem to want to use.

Panzerfire
2008-10-12, 20:59
It would certainly be nice to have our own uniform base model that we could just work off of to create a 2A4, 2A5 and 2A6 as needed for community factions, etc. This would keep us from having glaring differences between the various different models of leopards that we seem to want to use.

It's true that many factions use the Leopard 2A. But there is clear difference in the look of the L2A4s and the L2A5s/L2A6s. I'm not exactly sure what the difference between the L2A5s and the L2A6s but the look of the L2A4 is very different from the newer versions.

So the Polish Forces mini-mod for PR would be using the Leopard 2A4 while the Germans, Dutch and Canadians are going to use the Leopard 2A6. I'm not sure whetter the Norwegian Community will be using the L2A4 or the L2A5.

Just look at some pictures between those Leopard 2 versions and you'll see that there will be at least 2 base models for the Leopard and that only one wouldn't allow to have both L2A4s and L2A5/L2A6s in Project Reality.

As far as I know the base model for the L2A6 that Canadians, Dutch and Germans will be using comes from Operation Peacekeeper. The 2A4 according to this topic will be made by T-reX.pl.

J.F.Leusch69
2008-10-12, 21:34
the norwegians have a modeled 2A4 but they need to uv map an skin it and get it imported, but thats "just" all that needs to be done :)

Panzerfire
2008-10-12, 21:41
Is that so? :)
In that case the model made by T-reX.pl. wouldn't be used right?

Uniquesilver
2008-11-17, 19:26
I think Twardy will be better.. Leopard is Germans tank... Pt-91 is ours

Solid Knight
2008-11-17, 20:25
Doesn't matter if it was a duplication of effort. Some models are better than others and improved models should always be welcome.

GARYOSAVAN
2008-12-24, 22:39
You're so slow baby... :)
https://www.realitymod.com/forum/f275-norwegian-forces-mod/50622-vehicle-leopard2a4-mbt-wip.html#post878702

Ragni<RangersPL>
2008-12-24, 23:49
You're so slow baby... :)

Nope.... He just stoped :mrgreen:
PR is already a huge mod and it doesn't neeed to have two separate models of the same tank ;)

Skodz
2008-12-25, 15:26
Z-trooper;775203']looks really awesome and great level of detail so far, but I really see a problem... the germans and canadians has a L2A5, the norwegians insist on having a seperate model for their A4 and if the polish also get a seperate A4... well.. 3 tank files for roughly the same tank - and they all look different (cause lets face it, every model isnt exactly the same and has same level of detail).

My advice would be that all factions who use a L2AX should talk with eachother and chose one to go with. My recommendation would be the A5 model thats already ingame and working. A simple reskin should do the job since there isnt that many external changes from the A4 to the A5.

approved :)

motherdear
2008-12-25, 22:54
completely sticking to the model here it defiantly needs more detailed tracks/wheels