PDA

View Full Version : Misc For Those Who Need Help With Sound


Jaymz
2007-05-04, 06:00
Just thought I'd make a thread where everyone can ask about any sound designing/coding questions they have with the BF2 engine or with anything else.

danthemanbuddy
2007-05-05, 04:38
v.5 and v.6 weapon sounds.

I know that you need .wav sounds stereo for 1p, and mono for 3p.

However what is the right frequency and everything to get a new weapon sound in the mod.

I have replaced the m4 sound ever since v.32 and know with the md5 check im scared to change it.

Is v.5 and v.6 safe to change sounds with?
And with your sound team, I don't think I will have to change it....

Jaymz
2007-05-05, 07:00
Well the M4 coming in 0.6 isn't as loud or powerful sounding as it is now because currently it sounds like a machine gun, not a rifle. I also fixed the rate of fire on the sound (the sound was too slow so it sounded like you shoot 25 rounds instead of 30, but getting into how to do that is a bit complex) I hope you'll like it though.

As for changing sounds, go ahead. I've been using 0.5 to test my sounds and I don't get kicked or anything. Now, onto frequencies. Stick to 44khz and 22khz. Sofad always gives out to me when I make 3rdp sounds 44 because he wants me to be conservative for ram and download size =P.

Now, the bitrate needs to be 1411/705kpbs or 1024/512 kbps. Goodluck finding a bitrate converter for wav files for free. I've been using a trial version. Thankfully most of the sounds I work on are previous ones (already the correct bitrate) which I tweak and try to make more realistic.

Anything else mate?

Jedimushroom
2007-05-08, 18:41
Jaymz'](the sound was too slow so it sounded like you shoot 25 rounds instead of 30, but getting into how to do that is a bit complex)

how many firing sounds can you fit into those precious two seconds anyway?

danthemanbuddy
2007-05-09, 00:08
How loud can you possibly get the weapon sounds in the editor? I have been playing around and I can't change the volume or sound itself.

How loud is the current m4 on the 1-10 thing scale?

Could we possibly get all gunshots loud in the engine, or is it dependent on the python code of it?

Jaymz
2007-05-10, 20:00
how many firing sounds can you fit into those precious two seconds anyway?

It's all the one sound jedi, but you have to define a loop region for automatic weapons. WIthin that loop region is what it repeats over and over for each shot in burst/automatic. The smaller the loop region, the faster the rate of fire. To get the M4 in 0.6 to have a realistic rate of fire (the rate of fire is physically has in game) I had to play around with the loop region over and over until I was able to record myself emptying an entire clip and counting exactly 30 shots on the recording.

How loud can you possibly get the weapon sounds in the editor? I have been playing around and I can't change the volume or sound itself.

How loud is the current m4 on the 1-10 thing scale?

Could we possibly get all gunshots loud in the engine, or is it dependent on the python code of it?

First thing is first. Don't use the editor, one of my lecturers (the DCON sound artist) told me it's like a minefield that EA layed out for modders, as if they are trying to steer you off course. I know that things like vehicles should be done in the editor because of the directional engine sounds etc. but for weapons I say just stick to the tweak files.

Now, on to volume. In the tweak files you can define the BF2 volume for the sound, rifles are at 0.9 in PR I think, that's loud enough because I want to reserve 1.0 for grenades, tank cannons etc...which I have ;). For 0.6 I made my new A10 cannon sound 1.0. But what I've learned is that if you want a really loud sound you need to make the actual wav file louder, the 0.6 A10 cannon is as loud as you can get in the BF2 engine, you'll hear what I mean....muahahah. For editing the wavs themselves use Sound Forge, any DAW will do but Sound Forge lets you make the loop regions ;).

Anywho.The problem with the gunshot volume is that it's not that they aren't loud enough, it's that the sounds fade out over really short distances. In 0.6, all handheld weapon sounds travel twice as far. I did it depending on caliber, 5.56 travels twice the distance it does now, 7.62 a little more and 50cal about 3 or 4 times. Tanks/APC cannons will travel waaayyyy further than before.....I hope everyone will like it :)


Oh, if you want to learn the tweak files just ask here or PM me =D. Keep in mind though, sofad is still teaching me new things about the tweak files :p I'm a sound artist first, sound coder second.

danthemanbuddy
2007-05-10, 22:01
Wow thanks, you are my favorite modder (sofad equally), The sounds is the main thing I love playing PR.

One question though. You said that in PR that the rifle sounds are .9, is that in v.5 or v.6?

Still i Stress that rifle sounds should be as loud as they can be (not a 10 loud :D ) Everytime I go to my deer camp, I can hear that rifle shot more than 2 miles away. In PR, its more like 150m. (spare the saw)

Jaymz
2007-05-11, 15:10
well it's going to be 300m and above in 0.6 ;). The problem with distance is that people not using EAX don't have air dissipation. Meaning that they can hear sounds at greater distances. This is what is stopping me fron making the distances realistic. That plus the fact that each sound takes up ram, if you've got 64 people within a mile of you (which they usually are) that's a lot of ram being used for sounds alone. Just remember though, loudness and distance are two different things in game audio....at least for the foreseeable future.

Desertfox
2007-05-14, 06:55
Yes I need some help! I cannot hear out of my left ear :(






lol jk :P Good work helping people out jaymz! :D

xXx-Tricky-xXx
2007-05-20, 04:15
Hey, i swapped out the M4 sounds with http://www.zshare.net/audio/m4_fire_outdoor-wav.html

The problem is, when in full auto, the sound wont play but in semi it works fine. If you check the sound and compare it with the original one, there the same length if not the one I swapped with being shorter so it wouldnt overlap if that was a problem.

Dont understand why it ownt work >.<

Jaymz
2007-05-20, 15:55
Tricky, you need to set up loop points for the sound. As far as I know you need to do this with a program called sound forge. BF2 uses these loop points to repeat the sound on full auto.

Twisted Helix
2008-11-03, 05:57
Jaymz;359949']But what I've learned is that if you want a really loud sound you need to make the actual wav file louder,


Just to add a little tip to this for those that might not know, there are two kinds of 'loudness' in a sound file ... you have 'peak' volume and 'RMS' volume.

Peak volume is the maximum amplitude that your sound file reaches ... and once this hits 0dB, you cannot go any higher. You can achieve this by 'normalizing' the file ... however once a file is normalized you cannot get anymore peak volume out of it.

RMS volume is the root mean square of the total amplitude in the track. This means that if you take the amplitude of each 'sample' slice (at 44k1Hz that is 44100 samples in a second of time), and then total them up and obtain the mean amplitude (its actually more complicated than this but I will spare you the maths jargon :p ), you have your RMS level.

Now perception of 'loudness' is based upon RMS level and not upon peak level, as it is perfectly possible to have transient peaks that the ear cannot hear due to the ear having a response time. Increasing RMS level is done through the use of compression or limiting. This has the effect of raising the 'quiet' parts of the sound closer to the 'loud' part of the sound .. and thus increasing the overall energy in the sound file (you can normalize the result or use make up gain to make sure you maintain your peak at 0dB). This has the effect of making the sound seem louder even though the peak has not changed.

One word of warning though ... it is possible to go too far down this path ... and to start making everything louder and louder until you really have nowhere left to go, and sonic integrity suffers as a result. The most important thing to remember is that percerption of volume is a relation ... one sound in relation to another ... and instead of turning something 'up' ... you can actually turn everything else ... 'down'. ;)

Jaymz
2008-11-04, 06:09
Very good post there Helix, you're in the industry obviously 8-)

Twisted Helix
2008-11-28, 05:51
For those doing voice overs, and wanting to get a completely DEAD and DRY sound, there is this solution here.

The New & Improved Voice Over ?Porta-Booth? (http://digitalproducer.digitalmedianet.com/articles/viewarticle.jsp?id=89503&afterinter=true)

What the article describes is incredibly cheap to construct, and with a bit of ingenuity you can pretty much reduce the cost of the mic booth to 0 .

And best of all ... it works (although you will need to have a non reflective surface behind the voice artist as well).

Klikard
2009-02-18, 05:55
hey. im trying To make This like extra far away sound. like in battlefield vietnam. Like a second 3rd person sound When You Far away. How do i do That? thanks in advance

Klikard
2009-02-18, 14:20
if You have Sound Forge This will help. Go to Special/region list/Insert. Then Press Region. Then Select Were You want The Sound To loop. example 0 To 2 sec

Twisted Helix
2009-02-20, 06:41
hey. im trying To make This like extra far away sound. like in battlefield vietnam. Like a second 3rd person sound When You Far away. How do i do That? thanks in advance

A combination of things will give the perception of distance ... rolling off high frequencies, and increasing reverberation.

However the BF2 engine has this built into it in the form of EAX.

marcoelnk
2009-02-22, 22:44
does anyone have some good sound reference websites (for rifles etc. ) ?

Twisted Helix
2009-02-23, 04:45
You mean like sound libraries ?

Yes ... but they cost.

azn_chopsticks_boi
2009-02-23, 04:50
Heh, i am assuming its the mg4 sounds

marcoelnk
2009-02-23, 08:33
azn_chopsticks_boi;942944']Heh, i am assuming its the mg4 sounds

indeed.
would be great if anyone could provide us with sounds for the mg4.

Twisted Helix
2009-02-25, 06:52
Here is a bunch of places to search. Some like Hollywood Edge are royalty free libraries that cost ... others are just free websites with free sounds on them. You will have to search and trawl yourself to find what you are looking for (and it may not even be there).

War Sound Effects: Battle Sounds, Gun Sounds, Explosions, Cannons, Tanks (http://www.partnersinrhyme.com/soundfx/warsounds.shtml)

A1 Weapon Sound Effects - Free Sound Downloads as WAV files (http://www.a1freesoundeffects.com/weapons.html)

Sound Effects from Royalty Free Music (http://www.royaltyfreemusic.com/sound-effects.html)

www.brandens.net - Sound Effects - Military (http://www.brandens.net/snd_list.php?cat=Military)

Weapon Sound Effects (http://www.mediacollege.com/downloads/sound-effects/weapons/)

Welcome to Amazing Sounds (http://amazingsounds.iespana.es/asehg.htm)

Sound FX Page (http://www.vionline.com/sound.html#GUNS)

Advanced Search (http://www.hollywoodedge.com/AdvancedSearch.aspx) (type in guns or weapons)

Guillotine sounds | sound ideas | sound effect wav | wav sound files (http://www.audiosparx.com/sa/display/sounds.cfm/sound_group_iid.2868)

Weapon Sound Effects Download - Download Sounds of Machine Guns, Pistols, High-Powered Rifles, Shotguns and Explosions. 12 Gauge, Shotgun, 20 Gauge, 300 Winchester, 22 Rim Fire, 30-30, British Enfield 303, Shell, Cock, Gun, Empty, Chamber, M1 Grand 3 (http://www.a1sounddownload.com/weaponsoundsdownload.htm)

55 Great Websites To Download Free Sound Effects | Tools (http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/55-great-websites-to-download-free-sound-effects/)

Good Luck !!

mp5punk
2009-07-21, 08:56
can someone explain ambient sounds to me when i put it on my map and then load into it will it just appear at random times or do i need to do something else?

Scheintot887
2009-10-05, 12:49
It is allowed to make a own Soundmod? But not for download!

I want to make a own Soundmod... but after 2 minutes PB kicked me... "MD5 Tool mismatch"....... how I can play with a Soundmod?:-(

Scheintot887
2009-10-05, 13:49
Someone can help me?

orunes
2010-03-21, 12:12
Embiance sound.


How can I, for example put music in game?

Another question. If I replace for example us_win, by a downloaded OGG file it doesn´t work, why?

Thank you very much.

Amok@ndy
2010-03-21, 13:01
you need a 44 kHz .wav file and then convert it to .ogg

orunes
2010-03-21, 13:18
you need a 44 kHz .wav file and then convert it to .ogg
TYVM for your help!!!!;)

ChiefRyza
2010-06-01, 05:04
If I place a sound effect (AmbientSound) in the editor, am I supposed to be able to hear it, or is it only audible in-game?

Rudd
2010-06-01, 05:07
If I place a sound effect (AmbientSound) in the editor, am I supposed to be able to hear it, or is it only audible in-game?

for me it doesn't always start when I place it, but when I restart the map its there.

ChiefRyza
2010-06-01, 05:15
So far no luck....Is there a special way of adding an ambient, looping sound to an area in a map? I have my .ogg file of a jungle ambiance effect, and I want to play it through the areas with jungle in it. I made it from a 44khz .wav file but I can't get it to play in the editor.

Ok.....I got the jungle ambience working, however, how is it possible to have the sound effect become fainter as you move away from it? In the editor it just stops if your out of the radius and goes to full volume if inside of it - but never lowers in volume when moving away. I have the "Is3dSound" option ticked to no avail.

ChiefRyza
2010-06-30, 11:27
Is it normal that every single ambient sound placed on my map has disappeared after an editor crash, and replaced with a map wide one that can't be removed?

Tango Mike
2017-07-27, 20:05
Just thought I'd make a thread where everyone can ask about any sound designing/coding questions they have with the BF2 engine or with anything else.

Where do I start?

That is my question.
I'm trying to change the G36 sound in Project Reality since a few weeks now. Has not worked once. And I'm loosing my mind.


What do I have-/know?

I have a my new WAV. file, the original destination of the G36 sounds ingame, I have the Bf2 Mod Tools (I think) and Audacity.

What do I have to do in order to hear my own sound instead of the original one in Semi- and Fullauto?

I am a noob, yes. And I am sorry for annoying you guys. But I cannot find a single tutorial on YouTube about this and other Forums don't help me either.

PLEASE help me.

Thank you!

Arab
2018-01-31, 11:26
Where do I start?

That is my question.
I'm trying to change the G36 sound in Project Reality since a few weeks now. Has not worked once. And I'm loosing my mind.


What do I have-/know?

I have a my new WAV. file, the original destination of the G36 sounds ingame, I have the Bf2 Mod Tools (I think) and Audacity.

What do I have to do in order to hear my own sound instead of the original one in Semi- and Fullauto?

I am a noob, yes. And I am sorry for annoying you guys. But I cannot find a single tutorial on YouTube about this and other Forums don't help me either.

PLEASE help me.

Thank you!
Hi! Sorry for the late reply.

Here's the rundown on how to make your sounds work

The following tools are very helpful at giving information and converting channels and sound settings:


Format Factory (http://www.pcfreetime.com/formatfactory/index.php?language=en)
MediaInfo (https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo/Download)
BF2 Sound Tools (https://www.schoeldgen.de/bf1942/tools/Bf2%20Sound%20Tools.zip)
BF2 Add Sound Regions (https://www.schoeldgen.de/bf1942/tools/BF2_Add_Sound_Regions.zip)


Requirements

Must be saved as 44.1 kHz. While it will work fine with 48.0 kHz, it's not recommended - You can use FormatFactory to change that, including converting sound channels.
1p (First Person) can have Mono or Stereo sounds (1 or 2 channels respectively).
3p (Third Person) sounds must be saved as Mono to avoid it playing throughout the map.
ObjectTemplate.is3dSound 1 is responsible for this -> Fire3P and Deploy3P, anything 3P.
Must be in .wav or .ogg. It has differences. Explained below.


Audacity will save the current sound settings for .wav without changing anything while with .ogg, I find it might do it.

Differences between .wav and .ogg

WAV Advantages:
+Can use Sound Regions for loops (Used for Helicopter Rotor sounds, Automatic Rifles etc)
+Simple Format

Disadvantages:
-Heavy filesize

OGG Advantages:
+Suitable for level ambience, music and heavy non-sound region looping sounds
+Light and Optimized File size

Disadvantages:
-Can't be used for Sound Region-dependent sounds like Helicopter Rotor, Automatic Rifle sounds as it's not possible with the format.

For Sound Looping
Use BF2 Add Sound Region.exe to add to the sound file the area in which the engine will loop the sound. It uses the values of ObjectTemplate.fire.roundsPerMinute which has to be divisible by 1800 (https://researchmaniacs.com/Math/Divisible-By/What-is-1800-divisible-by.html). Enter the value which in the G36's case would be 600.

It will work it's magic after and save automatically.

To convert .WAV to .OGG
In BF2 Sound Tools, extract the folder.
Drag the sound file you want to convert into oggenc.exe.
It will create the .ogg in the exact same folder. Don't forget to rename it in the .tweak

Hope it helps, and if you have any questions, feel free to PM me :)

Tango Mike
2018-02-13, 20:11
Arab;2181314']Hi! Sorry for the late reply.

Here's the rundown on how to make your sounds work

The following tools are very helpful at giving information and converting channels and sound settings:


Format Factory (http://www.pcfreetime.com/formatfactory/index.php?language=en)
MediaInfo (https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo/Download)
BF2 Sound Tools (https://www.schoeldgen.de/bf1942/tools/Bf2%20Sound%20Tools.zip)
BF2 Add Sound Regions (https://www.schoeldgen.de/bf1942/tools/BF2_Add_Sound_Regions.zip)


Requirements

Must be saved as 44.1 kHz. While it will work fine with 48.0 kHz, it's not recommended - You can use FormatFactory to change that, including converting sound channels.
1p (First Person) can have Mono or Stereo sounds (1 or 2 channels respectively).
3p (Third Person) sounds must be saved as Mono to avoid it playing throughout the map.
ObjectTemplate.is3dSound 1 is responsible for this -> Fire3P and Deploy3P, anything 3P.
Must be in .wav or .ogg. It has differences. Explained below.


Audacity will save the current sound settings for .wav without changing anything while with .ogg, I find it might do it.

Differences between .wav and .ogg

WAV Advantages:
+Can use Sound Regions for loops (Used for Helicopter Rotor sounds, Automatic Rifles etc)
+Simple Format

Disadvantages:
-Heavy filesize

OGG Advantages:
+Suitable for level ambience, music and heavy non-sound region looping sounds
+Light and Optimized File size

Disadvantages:
-Can't be used for Sound Region-dependent sounds like Helicopter Rotor, Automatic Rifle sounds as it's not possible with the format.

For Sound Looping
Use BF2 Add Sound Region.exe to add to the sound file the area in which the engine will loop the sound. It uses the values of ObjectTemplate.fire.roundsPerMinute which has to be divisible by 1800 (https://researchmaniacs.com/Math/Divisible-By/What-is-1800-divisible-by.html). Enter the value which in the G36's case would be 600.

It will work it's magic after and save automatically.

To convert .WAV to .OGG
In BF2 Sound Tools, extract the folder.
Drag the sound file you want to convert into oggenc.exe.
It will create the .ogg in the exact same folder. Don't forget to rename it in the .tweak

Hope it helps, and if you have any questions, feel free to PM me :)

Give me your adress so I can send you some flowers!

Thank you!


I still have a few problems left, one being the 3p sounds.

The sound I wanted to use is a stereo file.
I tried to change it to mono in Audacity and it actually only showed me one track after clicking on 'change stereo to mono'. I exported the soundfile and started the game; I'm still able to hear all weapon sounds on the entire map.
Why is that, or better, how can I fix it?

The other Problem is the sound I added to the M240b.
It seemed ok, but Ingame it's a very very loud and annoying sound. I checked it via MediaInfo and that's the result:

Format: PCM
Codec-ID: 3
Length: 3s 166ms
Bitrate: 2822kb/s
Channels: 2
Samplingrate: 44.1kHz
BitDepth: 32 Bits
Size: 1,07 MiB

Can you help me get this to work?

I got the basic concept however. I now have the ability to add custom sounds to PR. Hell that feels good and I cannot thank you enough!
Most sounds work, also when activating the funswitch. ;)

Arab
2018-02-13, 22:36
Give me your adress so I can send you some flowers!

Thank you!


I still have a few problems left, one being the 3p sounds.

The sound I wanted to use is a stereo file.
I tried to change it to mono in Audacity and it actually only showed me one track after clicking on 'change stereo to mono'. I exported the soundfile and started the game; I'm still able to hear all weapon sounds on the entire map.
Why is that, or better, how can I fix it?

The other Problem is the sound I added to the M240b.
It seemed ok, but Ingame it's a very very loud and annoying sound. I checked it via MediaInfo and that's the result:

Format: PCM
Codec-ID: 3
Length: 3s 166ms
Bitrate: 2822kb/s
Channels: 2
Samplingrate: 44.1kHz
BitDepth: 32 Bits
Size: 1,07 MiB

Can you help me get this to work?

I got the basic concept however. I now have the ability to add custom sounds to PR. Hell that feels good and I cannot thank you enough!
Most sounds work, also when activating the funswitch. ;)
Hehe, no worries :mrgreen:

For the stereo to mono sound, after you split it to mono separately, make sure to delete the other channel. Then re-save for it to work.

Forgot to mention, if you modified the rate of fire in the .tweak and you want to update the sounds, you would need a program to read and remove the marker on the audio before running the BF2 Add Sound Region tool since it won't replace an existing one. You can download and install Magix Soundforge (Free Trial) here: https://www.magix.com/au/sound-forge-audio-studio/ to do it.

For the loud M240b firing sound, try removing the Volume and Pitch Envelope (The one with 0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0 etc) plus LowSamples and HighSamples from the tweak.

If you edited your sound in the existing file (which is ideal), then you might need to reapply the sound region using BF2 Add Sound Region tool.

Then ideally, normalise the volume if it sounds quiet.
1. Load both the original sound and the custom sound, then highlight the custom sound.
2. Go to Effect > Normalise, select OK. This will bump up the sound waves to be the same as the original.

Tango Mike
2018-02-15, 16:54
Arab;2182882']Hehe, no worries :mrgreen:

For the stereo to mono sound, after you split it to mono separately, make sure to delete the other channel. Then re-save for it to work.

Forgot to mention, if you modified the rate of fire in the .tweak and you want to update the sounds, you would need a program to read and remove the marker on the audio before running the BF2 Add Sound Region tool since it won't replace an existing one. You can download and install Magix Soundforge (Free Trial) here: https://www.magix.com/au/sound-forge-audio-studio/ to do it.

For the loud M240b firing sound, try removing the Volume and Pitch Envelope (The one with 0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0 etc) plus LowSamples and HighSamples from the tweak.

If you edited your sound in the existing file (which is ideal), then you might need to reapply the sound region using BF2 Add Sound Region tool.

Then ideally, normalise the volume if it sounds quiet.
1. Load both the original sound and the custom sound, then highlight the custom sound.
2. Go to Effect > Normalise, select OK. This will bump up the sound waves to be the same as the original.

And Thanks again!

M240B Sound works perfectly fine now, as any other. I also managed to set all sound to Mono too.

Awesome result but now, there is a very annoying bug:
On some Maps, I'm not able to switch between 1st and 2nd kit on Supplyboxes. (You know, Leftklick on the Marksman kit for example gives you the unsuppressed mk12 and rightklick gives you the suppressed)
When I play Bamyan and try to get the suppressed Mk12spr, it gives me the UNsupressed variant (same with every other weapon: I'm not able to get the 2nd Kitvariant out of supplyboxes)
BUT
On other Maps like Jabal Al Burj, it works totally well.

:?::?::?:

Why is that?

HeneraLuna
2018-02-16, 02:48
And Thanks again!

M240B Sound works perfectly fine now, as any other. I also managed to set all sound to Mono too.

Awesome result but now, there is a very annoying bug:
On some Maps, I'm not able to switch between 1st and 2nd kit on Supplyboxes. (You know, Leftklick on the Marksman kit for example gives you the unsuppressed mk12 and rightklick gives you the suppressed)
When I play Bamyan and try to get the suppressed Mk12spr, it gives me the UNsupressed variant (same with every other weapon: I'm not able to get the 2nd Kitvariant out of supplyboxes)
BUT
On other Maps like Jabal Al Burj, it works totally well.

:?::?::?:

Why is that?
I think that's an issue on the game for now, you cant request alt kits

Tango Mike
2018-02-17, 17:09
I think that's an issue on the game for now, you cant request alt kits

Ok, strange that it worked before I changed the sounds.

Arab
2018-02-18, 01:23
And Thanks again!

M240B Sound works perfectly fine now, as any other. I also managed to set all sound to Mono too.

Awesome result but now, there is a very annoying bug:
On some Maps, I'm not able to switch between 1st and 2nd kit on Supplyboxes. (You know, Leftklick on the Marksman kit for example gives you the unsuppressed mk12 and rightklick gives you the suppressed)
When I play Bamyan and try to get the suppressed Mk12spr, it gives me the UNsupressed variant (same with every other weapon: I'm not able to get the 2nd Kitvariant out of supplyboxes)
BUT
On other Maps like Jabal Al Burj, it works totally well.

:?::?::?:

Why is that?
You're welcome :)

As for that issue, it's been fixed for the next update (v1.5.3)
http://www.realitymod.com/forum/f26-pr-bf2-bugs/147111-alt-kit-unavailable.html

Tango Mike
2018-02-18, 08:17
Arab;2183125']You're welcome :)

As for that issue, it's been fixed for the next update (v1.5.3)
http://www.realitymod.com/forum/f26-pr-bf2-bugs/147111-alt-kit-unavailable.html

Awesome! :D

I just love the Dev Team and that they still care and update our favourite game!

Arab
2018-06-02, 04:50
Much appreciated ;)

Here's another tip that I recently discovered.

Before you record the animation you want to sync your sound with, make sure you set your game's FPS with the video recorder's FPS by bringing up the console '~' and typing in game.lockfps 60 for 60 FPS.

This way, the length of time for each action in the footage will be accurate to ingame.

So record each action according to the time frame in the editing software. I use Windows Live Movie Maker:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windowslive/forum/gallery-program/where-to-download-windows-essentials-2012/7665b354-4f2b-445d-811e-9d8c98e8f872?auth=1

Example:

AK-47 Deploy:
0 to 0:00.70 - Pulling the bolt back (Time frame: 1.4 seconds before bolt pull)
00:02.47 to 3 - Safety Off (AK74m sound)



Also to properly record the deploy animation, make sure first you have a shortcut key to record (pretty obvious).

Change weapons to the slot before the weapon you want to record.
When you are ready, press both the F key (To Cycle) and the Record key at the same time.

Same when you record the reload animation. Press the 'R' and Record key at the same time, then as soon as the animation goes to idle, press the record key again.

MaxP
2018-09-22, 13:08
For Sound Looping

Use BF2 Add Sound Region.exe to add to the sound file the area in which the engine will loop the sound. It uses the values of ObjectTemplate.fire.roundsPerMinute which has to be divisible by 1800 (https://researchmaniacs.com/Math/Div...isible-by.html). Enter the value which in the G36's case would be 600.

It will work it's magic after and save automatically.
From my own experience: the sound loop length calculated from the fire rate does not fit it in game. Maybe it depends on animation, maybe it's a sync problem, maybe depends on sound quality/architecture, but for almost all 600 rpm guns the best loop length is 108-111 ms, and 72+ for 900 rpm.
Otherwise I would get the sound synchronization problem - i.e., 3 sounds for 2 shots or vice versa.