PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking with multiple cores?


Cassius
2015-12-01, 19:11
If I overclock mostly for PR should I only overclock core 0 on a 4 core cpu seen as PR really only uses one core?

MaSSive
2015-12-02, 00:04
Ze answer on the link.

Overclock only one Core (http://www.overclock.net/t/1564412/overclock-only-one-core)

To sum it up its pointless, since unused cores are automatically downclocked and halted if no activity by "speedstep" and "C states", so it wont generate much heat or drain more power. Also dont use software to OC, use UEFI/BIOS whatever you have on your mainboard - means manualy OC. I assume you have Intel CPU, so this is based on it, should apply to AMD too, its just called different.

Which CPU? Intel I take but which one and which mainboard/ram..

Cassius
2015-12-05, 02:38
No I made bad choices early in life and am on an AMD. Its the Phenomx X3 720 with the fourth core unlocked. One question, is the voltage a constant? If I set the voltage to 1,525 will the higher voltage only come into play when the CPU is taxed to its fullest or is the voltage constant and the CPU hotter in idle as well?

MaSSive
2015-12-05, 03:29
That is a bit more complicated. I advise against overclocking with 4th core unlocked on that CPU.

Read below...

Guide - Overclocking AMD's Phenom II X3 720 BE | bit-tech.net (http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2009/05/11/overclocking-amd-s-phenom-ii-x3-720-be/1)

X-Alt
2015-12-09, 19:56
No I made bad choices early in life and am on an AMD. Its the Phenomx X3 720 with the fourth core unlocked. One question, is the voltage a constant? If I set the voltage to 1,525 will the higher voltage only come into play when the CPU is taxed to its fullest or is the voltage constant and the CPU hotter in idle as well?
Just force all four on it, prime 95 in and out, keep downvolting until you can get it to reasonable temps.