PDA

View Full Version : [Military]TRML Radar container


Glimmerman
2013-09-03, 06:56
http://i1342.photobucket.com/albums/o777/Kovanaama/TRLM/RenderTRLM_zpsf7e610c0.jpg

http://i1342.photobucket.com/albums/o777/Kovanaama/TRLM/TRLMwireframeUser_zpsb5d4064b.jpg

http://i1342.photobucket.com/albums/o777/Kovanaama/TRLM/TRLMwireframeTop_zpse70aa111.jpg

http://i1342.photobucket.com/albums/o777/Kovanaama/TRLM/TRLMwireframeLeft_zps019597ee.jpg

http://i1342.photobucket.com/albums/o777/Kovanaama/TRLM/TRLMwireframeFront_zps64a5f98b.jpg

Kovanaama created this very nice TRML container for us but we need someone to UV map it, if you are interested please let me or [R-DEV]AfterDune know.

lucky.BOY
2013-09-03, 09:07
This could be much more optimized, especially the legs. Why does it have open entrance when there is virtually no interior?

Why did kovanaama drop it?

Sorry if I come across as harsh, but this just doesnt look like finished model to me.

PS: Also some edged screenshots from perspective would help, very hard to see any details on this.

Rhino
2013-09-03, 09:17
ye, 13k tris is waaaay too much for something like this.... That's more than a MBT.

looks like also some bits will be zfighting quite a bit and also what excatly is the purpose of this?

Kovanaama
2013-09-03, 10:12
This could be much more optimized, especially the legs. Why does it have open entrance when there is virtually no interior?

You can step in and then press "E" to get in commanders seat. OR we can just make simple door on the side of it but that wouldnt be so cool. :P Point out where we can optimize.

Why did kovanaama drop it?

What do you mean?

Sorry if I come across as harsh, but this just doesnt look like finished model to me.

Then point out the problems and advice. Im not professional modeller and help is always welcome.

PS: Also some edged screenshots from perspective would help, very hard to see any details on this.

Will do.

http://i1342.photobucket.com/albums/o777/Kovanaama/TRLM/trlm4facets_zpse1b87b53.jpg

http://i1342.photobucket.com/albums/o777/Kovanaama/TRLM/TRLM5facets_zpsbbf9fb99.jpg

http://i1342.photobucket.com/albums/o777/Kovanaama/TRLM/trlmfacets6_zpsd40975b0.jpg

Rhino
2013-09-03, 10:17
You can step in and then press "E" to get in commanders seat. OR we can just make simple door on the side of it but that wouldnt be so cool. :P

Better to just have the door closed and you press "e" at the door to "get in" if this is an "ACV" kinda thing but not really in line with other ACVs ingame.

What do you mean?

He means why aren't you UVing it yourself? Normally when someone doesn't UV something they have dropped it, as well as the model needing quite a bit of work still.


As for the model, your wasting loads of tris on lots of tiny little things that wont be visible most of the time unless your right up close to it. Tiny wires should have like 3 sides for example and no one will be able to tell the difference between that and 32 sides :p

Kovanaama
2013-09-03, 10:19
Rhino;1945284']ye, 13k tris is waaaay too much for something like this.... That's more than a MBT.

looks like also some bits will be zfighting quite a bit and also what excatly is the purpose of this?

Agreed. Tri count can be cut down. Can you point those Z-fighting places so i can try to fix them? This is static and i understand that commander will use it?

PS: How many tris this model can have? Those metal thingies on the side are screaming of tris. They can be just textured on the model but i just wanted to make them on the model.

Kovanaama
2013-09-03, 10:28
Rhino;1945306']Better to just have the door closed and you press "e" at the door to "get in" if this is an "ACV" kinda thing but not really in line with other ACVs ingame.

Will do.

Rhino;1945306']He means why aren't you UVing it yourself? Normally when someone doesn't UV something they have dropped it, as well as the model needing quite a bit of work still.

I dont have skills with UV things yet. If Dutch faction wants it fast done then this is the only way. I have started modelling with FDF modellers and they have teached me a LOT but i consider myself as super beginner for now. I dont have spare time to study as fast as i would like so thats why my skills are limited.


Rhino;1945306']As for the model, your wasting loads of tris on lots of tiny little things that wont be visible most of the time unless your right up close to it. Tiny wires should have like 3 sides for example and no one will be able to tell the difference between that and 32 sides :p

FDF guys warned me about that too yes.. but did i listen to them? nooooooo... :lol:
I fix the model.

Glimmerman
2013-09-03, 10:49
The idea behind this model is to function as a ACV but more in line with a ATC tower from this static you can control main base fixed SAM launchers (NASAMS-2)

I also just noticed you are missing some X supports on the radar boom:

http://www.luchtdoelartillerie.nl/pagina.php?actie=trml

see last picture

Amok@ndy
2013-09-03, 16:28
thread moved, we have a seperate area for statics

Kovanaama
2013-09-05, 08:13
- Dropped the tris count from 13 000 to 6785 by deleting metal plates from sides
- Wires are now 3 sided
- Added X-supports to the boom.
- deleted some objects that are hidden or too far to see.

@Rhino, is 6785 enough and do you want the model file and look it a bit and then to give some feedback?

lucky.BOY
2013-09-05, 09:07
Can you please post some pictures?