PDA

View Full Version : Misc PRSPY v2


AncientMan
2013-01-04, 15:09
So, over the last week or so I've been working on a completely new PRSPY. Apart from the new look, it also hosts several new features and tweaks to help make browsing Project Reality servers via the web easier for everyone.

http://i.imgur.com/SfJSD.jpg
Click to visit PRSPY v2 (https://www.realitymod.com/prspy)
Note: If the previous PRSPY still loads, try clearing your cache by using Shift + F5 or Ctrl + F5 to force a reload

The reason behind this redesign was because the way the data was collected needed to be updated to be less server intensive. So while that was done, it provided a good opportunity to redo the site at the same time to integrate it more into the overall PR website.

Some of the key features include:

View both PR:BF2 and PR:ARMA2 servers in the same website
View and monitor multiple servers at the same time with a tabbed interface
Split tables for teams on PR:BF2 servers (unfortunately PR:ARMA2 does not support this)
More server variables and information are reported
Fast and easy to use player search tool
An easy to use friends list that makes it easy to see what servers your friends are playing on
PR:BF2 Co-Op servers are now displayed


There are many more features and little additions as well. In general, just try hovering over things or clicking things, see what they do :).

Now while the site is still in considered work in progress, it's at the stage where it can be released for everyone. However, at the moment there is one issue with the "Join Server" button. Because of PunkBuster and the double join bug, this is essentially broken. While we're hopeful a fix may be issued, it's unlikely this can be rectified before PR:BF2 v1.0. So for now, consider it a shortcut to launching the game instead of joining a server :).

If you have any suggestions or comments on the new PRSPY, feel free to post them below. In conclusion, I'd like to thank the now retired [R-DEV]GeZe who made the original PRSPY, mostly every feature from the old version made its way into the new version.

Enjoy

Mineral
2013-01-04, 15:14
great piece of work!

brezmans
2013-01-04, 15:23
Excellent work! A vast improvement and nice eye-candy too.

M.Hart
2013-01-04, 15:34
Good improvement. Really like this.

Zrix
2013-01-04, 15:43
Awesome work.

Antol
2013-01-04, 15:46
This is great, but i cant join to any server. Still got freezing, nothing happened and i need to turn off bf2.exe.
Anyway, i love new features. Good job Ancient!

rPoXoTauJIo
2013-01-04, 15:52
AncientMan;1850389']...for now, consider it a shortcut to launching the game instead of joining a server :)
Starting PR(old way):
1. Start PR.
2. Find a server, connect.
3. Wait for "Connection lost" message.
4. Connect again.
5. Go make tea.
6. Go back with tea, join squad.

Starting PR(new way):
1. Find a server, launch PR with "connection lost" message.
2. Connect again.
3. Go make tea.
4. Go back with tea, join squad like a boss 8)

-2 actions, nice work :D

saXoni
2013-01-04, 15:54
Nice one! :)

Microwaife
2013-01-04, 16:27
Love it! Really good layout. :)

Adriaan
2013-01-04, 16:37
Sweet work AM, very handy indeed!

Doc.Pock
2013-01-04, 16:39
I <3 YOU ANCIENT! :P it looks superb

AnimalMother.
2013-01-04, 16:55
Envision the day where PRSpy is linked to your forum and ingame account(s). You click the launch game/join server button and auto-deploy to PR mumble and your server.

That can happen right? I'm excited.

Awesome work loving the overhaul.

MADsqirrel
2013-01-04, 17:01
Nice!
Feels a lot better than the old one.

PoisonBill
2013-01-04, 17:23
Sexy n' lovely! Makes me wanna jump in a game right NOW!

lucky.BOY
2013-01-04, 17:39
Looks neat, loving the ingame screenshot of the map in background of server.

Onil
2013-01-04, 17:40
Really awesome work AM, those new features are extremely useful for both players and server admins.

AnA10Warthog
2013-01-04, 17:57
Wow. I really like this. You guys have yet to disappoint me so far!

baltimore
2013-01-04, 18:15
Great work , I'm just imaginaging cauze I dont tried it yet but WOW :)
Nice job , Geze would be proud of you...
Altrought AnimalMother. had a good ideea :P :P :P

paul161616
2013-01-04, 18:39
not bad, not bad at all. keep up the good work!

mockingbird0901
2013-01-04, 18:56
Starting PR(old way):
1. Start PR.
2. Find a server, connect.
3. Wait for "Connection lost" message.
4. Connect again.
5. Go make tea.
6. Go back with tea, join squad.

Starting PR(new way):
1. Find a server, launch PR with "connection lost" message.
2. Connect again.
3. Go make tea.
4. Go back with tea, join squad like a boss 8)

-2 actions, nice work :D

Yea, what's up with that? I never used to get it before, but then all of a sudden I started to.

Anyhoo, looks nice :grin:

Dragunova
2013-01-04, 18:57
Very cool, for a feature I've been using for a while now, I'm glad it's got some love, especially around all the 0.98/1.0 hype ;)

ShockUnitBlack
2013-01-04, 19:01
YKUOB8MN4Kc

AFsoccer
2013-01-04, 19:05
Also, AM forgot to mention that the new PRSPY also has 100% of the map overviews now... so no more missing maps pics. :)

smgunsftw
2013-01-04, 19:15
How can we find the IP address of the server in PR SPY v2? My server browser is broken so I have to connect via IP addresses or favourites.

UKrealplayER666
2013-01-04, 19:22
How can we find the IP address of the server in PR SPY v2? My server browser is broken so I have to connect via IP addresses or favourites.

I don't think there is a way.

FIX IT NOW!

Good work though, top notch, bravo.

(is this coming across as sarcastic?)

smgunsftw
2013-01-04, 19:26
I don't think there is a way.

FIX IT NOW!

Good work though, top notch, bravo.

(is this coming across as sarcastic?)

In PR SPY v1 the IP address of the server was shown in the URL bar in your browser, so it would look something like this

https://www.realitymod.com/prspy/IP Address;Port

or

0 Page Not Found | Project Reality (https://www.realitymod.com/prspy/111.11.1.11;16567)

tmi006
2013-01-04, 19:54
Looks fantastic, good work, gents!

rPoXoTauJIo
2013-01-04, 20:06
3. Wait for "Connection lost" message.
Yea, what's up with that?
You lucky, if you don't get get this at every 1st connect on PR.

At least 1 man can use new prspy with 100% efficiency:-D

blip2
2013-01-04, 22:31
Excellent, the 'API' is much better than the last version (except it doesn't server jsonp :[)!

Xeno300
2013-01-05, 00:04
Looks great and works great! Good job guys!

AncientMan
2013-01-05, 01:01
How can we find the IP address of the server in PR SPY v2? My server browser is broken so I have to connect via IP addresses or favourites.

Bit odd your server browser being broken, you should look into fixing that... But I put in the server address just for you, do you feel special? :p

Frank Jeager
2013-01-05, 01:15
The link to the BattleRecorder downloads page, for servers where BR is enabled, is useful. Nice work.

BloodyDeed
2013-01-05, 01:31
Yeah, don't wanna get any more PM's asking me for the link of the New Era Servers BR anymore :P

smgunsftw
2013-01-05, 02:03
AncientMan;1850748']Bit odd your server browser being broken, you should look into fixing that... But I put in the server address just for you, do you feel special? :p

I have the Steam version of BF2, no servers show up in the server browser. I've tried launching BF2 from the retail launcher,clearing my internet cache, disabling anti-virus, using scripts, and running PR and Mumble 1.0 as administrator. I have no problems with launching the vBF2 server browser, as well the server browsers for other BF2 mods. Right now this doesn't pose too much of a problem for me any more, as I can connect to IP and I can still have a full list of servers displayed from my favourites tab. However, it'd be great a dev can solve this problem, it'll save me from having to always check which servers are populated on PR SPY.

rPoXoTauJIo
2013-01-05, 02:09
I think there was a RED solution in support section (https://www.realitymod.com/forum/f27-pr-bf2-support/105911-no-servers-steam.html) ;)

Tema567
2013-01-05, 02:12
Starting PR(old way):
1. Start PR.
2. Find a server, connect.
3. Wait for "Connection lost" message.
4. Connect again.
5. Go make tea.
6. Go back with tea, join squad.

Starting PR(new way):
1. Find a server, launch PR with "connection lost" message.
2. Connect again.
3. Go make tea.
4. Go back with tea, join squad like a boss 8)Currently there is no way to resolve this trouble, because it can be managed only by Even Balance.

Even after contact with their support technician about six months ago they did nothing to improve situation. We're still awaiting for the answer or global update from EB.

This bug persist since latest PunkBuster client update 2.306 and now present on any BF2 server with latest client updates - no matter which OS/settings/mod you are using.

Shall we wait considering that delay between releases of pbcl 2.306 and pbsv 1.800 was almost 18 months :)

Rhino
2013-01-05, 02:17
We need to start a partition :p

Spush
2013-01-05, 02:18
Tema567;1850779']This bug persist since latest PunkBuster client update 2.306 and now present on any BF2 server with latest client updates - no matter which OS/settings/mod you are using.

Oh is that the reason why I have to double connect? Thought it was just me.

rPoXoTauJIo
2013-01-05, 02:27
Is there any way to force pr.exe connect 2 times if client logged?(if shortcut\bat\script with login+pass used)

If it's possible, PR will be the only mod which don't have troubles with 2nd connect, "Join Server" button in PRSPY, and 1.0 version number - could be used as advertisement to get new players :D

AncientMan
2013-01-05, 02:27
Rhino;1850781']We need to start a partition :p

Oh Rhino and his spell check ;p

Anyway, nothing can be done about joining the server until either evenbalance issue a fix (unlikely), or 1.0 releases where we can do some fixing ourselves.

The link to the BattleRecorder downloads page, for servers where BR is enabled, is useful. Nice work.

Equally as useful is clicking on the server logo to go to that servers webpage. But that only works if servers have their settings set up right, which I told them to, but some still haven't yet :(

Rhino
2013-01-05, 03:14
AncientMan;1850786']Oh Rhino and his spell check ;p

shuup, I'm working on PR stuff late and its was 3am, now 4am, I need to get to bed :p

Professorson
2013-01-05, 03:58
wow new version of pr spy is sick big up

nAyo
2013-01-05, 06:22
Great work :)

paul161616
2013-01-05, 08:46
great work on this one. i really like the tab feature!

Daniel
2013-01-06, 15:23
Envision the day where PRSpy is linked to your forum and ingame account(s). You click the launch game/join server button and auto-deploy to PR mumble and your server.

That can happen right? I'm excited.

Awesome work loving the overhaul.

At least you can start all easier with the batch file... It works excellent!

https://www.realitymod.com/forum/f27-pr-bf2-support/107092-prmumble-help-faq-tips-tricks.html#post1726382

Pesticide
2013-01-07, 02:21
good stuff

is there also maybe a way to see the actual flag layout ? or could that potentially be a cache exploit ? missing the 128 player server so much i love maps where the flag layouts are close to each other concentrating the fight in 50 to 30% of the maps :)

AcEy
2013-01-07, 20:35
Thanks. It looks great. I can now put a friends list together of clan members as well as skilled pubbers I meet in squads. Before this, it was all on memory and xfire top squad screenshots

AfterDune
2013-01-07, 20:39
Thanks. It looks great. I can now put a friends list together of clan members as well as skilled pubbers I meet in squads. Before this, it was all on memory and xfire top squad screenshots
You could create a buddy list in the previous version too ;).

Daniel
2013-01-10, 20:40
BUT it is really a pitty that the url doesn't change if u click on a server... So no "bookmark" for example, and no "send link to friend" possible in this case... :p :(

blip2
2013-01-14, 12:49
BUT it is really a pitty that the url doesn't change if u click on a server... So no "bookmark" for example, and no "send link to friend" possible in this case... :p :(

also on my 'would like' list :D

malengar
2013-01-21, 22:41
awesome work , nice shortcut !

Saltzman
2013-02-09, 13:00
Is there anyway to incorporate PR Spy on my clan website?