PDA

View Full Version : [Static] New House [WIP]

Elirah
2012-08-28, 10:22
Firstly to say, I'm not that good at modeling, especially when it comes to model for games. However, I made a model which I made within Blender 3D (I know I need 3Ds Max for anything further, though exporting from Blender should not be that problem). So for the beginning, I just want to get some overall feedback, back in mind I know I need to get all the faces into tries.
Further on, I'm also a pretty noob at UV-Unwrapping, where I may need help or advise. However, getting up the LOD's and the col-meshes should not be the problem for me, due I already know, how I'm going to make them.

So here are some Pictures:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lpdqn6d0tky4nhg/house_wire.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/s/35vxj5jl88qgzty/house.jpghttp://img694.imageshack.us/img694/4540/housefw.jpg

***Update:
http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/9089/midfloorstacked.jpg

Greetings, Elirah.

lucky.BOY
2012-08-28, 10:57
Do you have any references, or are you making it out of your head?

And no, you dont need to convert everything to tris, the exporter does that for you when you export the model. Actually I find it much better to work with quads when you can. However, the tris count (in 3ds max its counting all tris, wheter they are in tris, quads or polys) is good for understanding how well opimized the model is.

Right now there are many unnecessary tris in your model, you have to weld everything together and also delete those faces that wont be ever visible to player.

Here is for example, how the front wall should look:

http://i.imgur.com/lpTfS.jpg

For exporting model to BF2, you need 3d Studio Max 9 (not 2009, but 9). versions 8 or 7 would probably do, too.

Here is a tutorial on how to UV statics for Bf2:

https://www.realitymod.com/forum/f189-modding-tutorials/63654-static-object-tutorial-very-basic-texture-palettes.html