project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 Community Modding
23 Aug 2014, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Forum RulesDeveloper Blogs Project Reality Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
PR:BF2 Community Modding Making or wanting help making your own asset? Check in here

Contact Support Team Frequently Asked Questions Register today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2012, 02:55 PM   #1
MrTomRobs

Default Modding - where do I start so I can help out?

Hey everybody!

My name's Tom and I've been following PR since 0.87. I'm graduating from Aberystwyth Uni this summer with a degree in Business IT, so I have a little experience in coding, but mostly Java and I didn't like it because I didn't get it because my lecturers were crap, but I digress.

In a nutshell, I want to start modding and put something back into PR and try and help develop it, but I have no experience WHATSOEVER in it, and I was wondering if people (especially Devs), can point me in the right direction? I saw a thread in the General Discussion section about the development timeline or something, and somebody commented saying that the PR team is looking for coders especially. It seems like there are plenty of modellers around with plenty to do, and I'm too poor to afford photoshop :P

So, community, if I'm looking to start modding the game and get on the development team, what languages do you suggest I start learning?

Kind regards

MrTomRobs

'There are 3 types of people in this world, those that can count, and those who can't.'

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gwlad! Gwlad! Pleidiol wyf i'm Gwlad!
MrTomRobs is offline Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 02:58 PM   #2
Doc.Pock

Default Re: Modding - where do I start so I can help out?

well BF2 is python based so thats the start. python is also prettier and easier to learn than java.