project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > Project Reality Support > General Technical Support
24 Nov 2014, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Forum RulesDeveloper Blogs Project Reality Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Contact Support Team Frequently Asked Questions Register today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2012, 09:32 AM   #1
NyteMyre

Default UTP cable splitter/switch/router ?

Guys, im a real noob when it comes to laying down connection cables or network related stuff. So i need a little help in this section:

We got a new internet provider and a new router/modem and i knew that in my old configuration, which was a very long cable from the telephone splitter to the router, was a bad thing.
Everytime i had some instable connection (happened rarely though), the customer support ALWAYS claimed it was caused by the bad position of my router.

So i decided to make sure that that wouldnt happen anymore and installed the router close to the telephone line.
The problem is that the wireless on my PC and PS3 (which are 3 floors away from the router now) are pretty shitty, and I want to connect them again with UTP cables. I want to get a 20m UTP cable and then "split" them in my room to my PC and PS3, but i get a lot of different answers on what i need. i.e. another router (seems plausible) , a switch or a UTP splitter

TL;DR, what do i need to get from 1 UTP cable to 2 UTP cables
See my awesome paint layout below:\

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NyteMyre is offline Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:33 AM   #2
[R-CON]Psyrus
PR:BF2 Contributor
Default Re: UTP cable splitter/switch/router ?

Easiest solution? Just get 2x 20m(+extra distance) CAT cables to run in parallel to the devices. Otherwise, you will need some sort of switch/router at the 20m mark.