project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 Feedback > Vehicles
22 Jan 2018, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Forum RulesDeveloper Blogs Project Reality Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2017, 01:42 PM   #1
Vegetal
Default Helicopter responsiveness

Hello guys, started playing this some days ago and am enjoying it quite a lot. Hard to believe this has been going for such a long time.

So, I've had some experience flying helicopters in real life, not much though. But enough to draw some conclusions.

I tried flying them in game, but I think they have the same problem I've seen on pretty much every milsim that I've played: they are really sluggish to respond. Not so much yaw, that seems good enough. More critically, pitch and roll rates are too low. They also seem to vary a lot with airspeed, which isn't quite like how they fly in reality.

Another thing: I could reach speeds above 500 km/h on one of them. That is flat out wrong, and I can explain why if you want.

I didn't follow this game through development, so maybe I don't know something...
Vegetal is offline Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 01:48 PM   #2
[R-DEV]AlonTavor
PR:BF2 Developer
PR Server License Moderator
Default Re: Helicopter responsiveness

The speed meter in the bf2 engine is bullshit.
[R-DEV]AlonTavor is offline Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 01:59 PM   #3
Vegetal

Quote:
Originally Posted by [R-CON]AlonTavor View Post
The speed meter in the bf2 engine is bullshit.
I figured that could also be the case. The ground was passing too slow beneath me =P
Old 06-06-2017, 02:02 PM   #4
[R-CON]UTurista
PR:BF2 Contributor
Supporting Member
PR Server License Moderator

Also we're well aware that the flight model is not realistic or even near it, you can't forget we're just a modification, we're limited to what we can modify.