project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 Suggestions
28 Nov 2014, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Forum RulesDeveloper Blogs Project Reality Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
PR:BF2 Suggestions Suggestions from our community members for PR:BF2. Read the stickies before posting.

Contact Support Team Frequently Asked Questions Register today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2005, 10:42 PM   #1
Ugly Duck

Default Real Armor on Armored vehicles

Well, BF2 is said to have penetration values. Guess what that means, real armor... or so I hope. My idea is a relatively simple one, I think, but I am no coder.
So the idea is this, you will of course have the tank, but the outside shell will not actualy take damage. It is the armor of the tank, it is not vital, and should not be required for the tank to operate. This armor shell that is the tank model would be coded so that only specific anti tank weapons would be able to penetrate it, and certain areas would be thicker as well. Inside of this shell would be the real "hit boxes."
Placed in vital places, when struck these would cripple the tank, but not kill the crew members. So if a shell struck the rear side of an M1A2 it would first penetrate that armor, and then strike the engine causing the tank to be immobalized and slowly deteriorating eventualy ending in the crews death without any visual explosion( aside from some smoke bellowing from the engine/hatches and maybe an occasional flame or two).